top of page
beautiful-asian-female-model-with-radiant-skin-beauty-photoshoot-black-and-white.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJori Goh

My first studio test photoshoot


Hope you don’t mind this blog post of mine being a little long-winded. I would just love to share a short brief of my story, initial impression, experiences, thoughts afterwards and post-processing of my photographs from my first test photoshoot itself.


Brief Story


23rd of June 2020 was my very first test shoot or rather, my first studio test shoot with a modelling agency. This whole photoshoot idea was still new to me back then since I am a guy who draws, yes I’m referring to drawing. I wouldn’t call myself an artist, not anytime soon yet. All I ever did beforehand was some basic architectural and location photography captured in an analogue medium. Hence, it was quite a jump to not only photographing models but also contacting the modelling agency. I wouldn’t go on about my journey too much here.



First impression


The modelling agency I contacted is Upfront Models Singapore, managed by the director, Watson Tan. I remembered entering the wrong building for the test shoot which resulted in me calling the director to ask for directions. Despite that, I was welcomed by Watson into the agency’s studio for the test shoot.


Subsequently the model, Lia T arrived and the test shoot proceeded. Since it was my first shoot, I didn’t have contact with any hair & makeup artist or stylist. Watson wasn’t directing the shoot, it really was a basic test shoot in which I got to try and experiment with the lighting equipment from the studio. Bear in mind that the model is a professional, combined with the fact that I have zero concepts or mood board for the shoot. Therefore, there weren't any specific poses directed by me and it was all from the model herself. Watson did tell me to go for a commercial-style relating to health and beauty. Think hair and facial product commercials.



Lighting


Days before the test shoot, I watched quite a couple of video guides regarding studio lighting setups, types of lighting, angles and generally basic studio information.


Applying what I’ve watched, I started off with a basic two-light setup. A key light to illuminate my model and a rim light to outline her hair and the edge of her face such as the jawline and cheekbones. The types of lighting I wanted to produce were the Rembrandt, butterfly and broad light.


Broad light ended up in the majority of my photographs whereby the key light was placed at the side where my model was angling her face more towards the camera to show the side of what they call the ‘good angle’. The angle is about 45° tilting down and positioned 45° from the center (my camera). The rim light was placed behind her at about 45°angle tilting down and positioned 45° from center as well. The lighting equipment I used was a continuous LED light with a softbox modifier and a LED ring light. I didn’t use strobes or flashguns back then as I was inexperienced.


The Challenge


Speaking about lighting, it was definitely a challenge faced during this test shoot to get pleasing lighting. In my honest opinion when looking back, it was partially also due to the fact that I wasn’t sure of what mood and style of lighting I wanted. I was constantly switching between broad, butterfly and Rembrandt light setup. All of these require shifting of the lighting equipment by a major difference. With Rembrandt and broad light being 45° off-centre and butterfly light being at the center.

There were switching between the use of one and two light setups as well. In addition to these, I have to re-adjust my camera exposure settings a little every time the setup changes. In general, lots of shifting and adjusting of equipment made me feel really inexperienced (which I was) and awkward. Luckily, the casual conversation between the model and I between the change in setups, coupled with some music played makes the scenario handled much more professionally.

Post Processing

I'd also like to share my editing process. I’ll be honest, the photos here are re-edited. My first test shoot’s photographs wouldn’t look as good had I not gone back to edit them again but neither are they great.


I have stopped using Adobe Lightroom Classic altogether during my re-editing and straight jumped into Adobe Photoshop starting with its built-in Adobe Camera Raw. It works exactly like Lightroom Classic. Basic exposure, white balance adjustment, contrast and clarity are done in Camera Raw. Afterwhich, I’ll get into Photoshop to do skin retouching to remove blemishes, followed by dodge and burn to accentuate the highlights on my models’ facial structure. Minor colour grading followed by sharpening before I save them in 300 DPI (dots per inch).


My thoughts and experience


After the shoot which lasted about 2 hours, I showed Watson some of the photos taken. He also shared with me more about the fashion and photography industry. At that moment, I was just learning and trying as much as I could. There wasn’t a specific genre or style I was going for. It was a new exposure altogether. Watson mentioned having me do more test shoots if I would like to. Out of curiosity, I asked why he allowed me to do the test shoot as back then I didn’t have a portfolio of portraits. He said he looked at my photos of places and buildings on Instagram. I felt grateful because those weren't really good photos but he would like me to try anyway. It was a test shoot or time for print after all, both parties benefit from the photoshoot itself. Models and photographers gain experience and receive photographs for their individual portfolios.



Comments


bottom of page