top of page
beautiful-asian-female-model-with-radiant-skin-beauty-photoshoot-black-and-white.jpg
  • Writer's pictureJori Goh

Nyari, a community for pre-loved ethnic wear in Singapore


This weekend, I am working with a sustainable fashion startup, Nyari.

The Brand


Nyari is a marketplace to buy and sell pre-loved ethnic and occasion wear in Singapore. It's a sustainable fashion concept that allows you to lead an elevated yet conscious lifestyle.



The Photoshoot


Photographing apparel has always been on my to-do list, be it fashion photography with models or simply E-commerce presentation. So I took on this work and collaboration fruitfully.


The photo shoot lasted about 2 hours and actually, it was surprisingly tiring. Mainly because of the positioning of the product, styling so as to give it a consistent look and cut down on post-editing work. In a tiny way, it's visual merchandising. The volume of products also played a role and each of them is of a different category. So you got to be on your toes and efficient, photographing a product after another if given time to meet.




I appreciate that the brand owner, Kriti was communicating and helping me during the photoshoot as well. Production doesn't do its magic alone, all the more so in the fashion industry and communication helps to keep everyone's vision on the right track. Being fairly new in apparel photography, I don't know how layering and folds work hence that is directed by Kriti.


This does give me an experience of what it is like to conduct an e-commerce production shoot in which I heard, it could be hectic in a fashion retail e-commerce setting.



The Apparels and Fabrics


I must say, the only apparels I got my hands on are clothing from H&M, Zara, Uniqlo, you get the idea. Fabrics and textures are unknown to me, they still are, especially in dressmaking from the sewing and cutting to the structure. Being a photographer or an outsider foreign to the world of apparel. It's quite brand new to me that the apparel, especially the ones from Nyari are light with delicate textures, airy to the touch and it's a fresh balance between these aspects.



The Editing


I went for a light and airy editing style. Low contrast, soft lighting and subtle saturation. Giving a light feel to the images and clothing. To boost what is already beautiful about the colours from the clothing of Lime, Mint and Cream, airy editing works to give it a final touch.


Colours that are richer such as turquoise, blue, orange and pink should be pushing a little in terms of saturation or you'll miss out on an opportunity to work with what you have. Colours don't come in easy, adding colours in post-editing can seem unrealistic. It is better to have what is already there during a shoot and enhance it later.


Thoughts


To conclude, this will be an ongoing collaboration and it's great for future opportunities. Being the photographer and editor of the brand brings me more insights and I'm glad the editing style supports the fabric and colour of the brand's apparel. More photos are to be added soon.


If you're looking for gorgeous preloved ethnic wear, head on to Nyari

Kommentare


bottom of page